Tesla is toast

Discussion in 'Tesla' started by Ben Washburn, Oct 2, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Ben Washburn

Ben Washburn Member

I'm completely new to the 'EV' world, and for that matter, almost the new car world--the last new car I bought was a BMW in Germany in 1999. I'm not a 'car guy', nor am I particularly an ideological environmentalist or any of that. Politically I'm basically a libertarian, I'll do my thing, you do your thing, and let business do its thing. A car for me is literally nothing but Point A to Point B for best value--as I mentioned somewhere else, that all look the same to me because they're simply utilitarian for me.

So I'm probably not representative of the general tone here. But that's maybe good because I'm just a normal guy looking for a good car, with no mandates or prohibitions beyond good value, and probably more representative of 'the average guy'.

So here's my conclusion after about a month: Tesla is toast.

First, EVs are fantastic--and again, not because they're EVs, but because they're good cars. Just plain good cars--comfortable, peppy if that's what you want (ok, it's not a BMW, but that's a niche anyhow), silent, just plain fun to drive like a BMW but in a different way. And of course, they're great value, with the rebate but even without the rebate.

So as a guy with absolutely no predisposition at all to go this way, it seems obvious to me now that the car-buying market is going to absolutely flood into EVs and PHEVs. I honestly think it's just a matter of knowledge and comfort level, and that critical mass will be exceeded in the next two years. I'll never buy a gas car again--why would I?