Maine to DC in the ID4

Discussion in 'ID.4' started by Brian Prendergast, Mar 2, 2022.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Well I took the family on the first electric road trip. Was much better than I expected. I went from Maine to DC stopping at EV America sites only (with the exception of one hotel but that was not needed just did it cause I could).

So for a background, I am an engineer and enjoy learning new tech. As such when I first thought to take the ID to DC I started researching what people do months before I even had the car :). I settled on using an app called plug share to help find and map my charging stops along the way.

Keys for me:

• Walmart stops preferred to give kids a place to walk around and use the bathroom
    • planned for ~160 miles between stops to allow for cold weather driving, higher highway speeds, extra weight from car being packed full, only 80% charge at stops
    • Planned to do the drive in one day leaving early in the morning
    So I had my route planned and was ready to go a month in advance. Plug share worked great to map the course out, it was a little tricky getting the map to google maps to use in the car but it was doable. At the last minute we decided to leave late the night before and find a hotel to break the ride up a little. Not really sure why since it through all the planning I had out the window but hey it's a road trip so why not... We quickly planned a new trip, found a hotel with a charger and left. It wasn't that big a deal at all. I really wish the car had things like this integrated in but it doesn't. Pretty sure this is an area Tesla does much better than any other company but not sure since I have only watched reviews and never planned a trip myself.