Taking the Dive

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Strahd, Mar 24, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Strahd

Strahd New Member

Hey everyone.

First post, and first time considering an EV (or PHEV). I have two concerns, and I'm curious how many others have tackled them. My first concern is the rate that EV technology is increasing. At this pace, in 5 years or less the Clarity might be quickly outdated. This can obviously have an effect on its value, and how long I'd like to keep it. Perhaps that anxiety is unwarranted, but I'm admittedly ignorant to EV/PHEV despite general research. Second, I live in an apartment building and am wait-listed for a charger so how do others feel with public charging? I've never had to do that before, so I'm not even quite sure what people do while they wait the 1-3 hours to charge a vehicle in public.

I'm a California resident so am thinking about this vehicle due to the financial incentives and the fact that I really only drive a 5 mile total commute each day. I could probably get away with charging once or twice a week if I had to.

Thanks for the input, excited about the Clarity!

WadeTyhon likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. jdonalds

jdonalds Well-Known Member

I have no doubt the value of today's PHEV cars will depreciate drastically over the next few years. Battery technology is improving rapidly. When electric cars can be charged in 15 minutes or less it will spell the end of hybrid and PHEVs (and fuel cells but that is going to fail on its own).

I never charge at pay charging stations. They charge too much. Gas is cheaper right now..

With a five mile commute you should be good for 3 or 4 days.

4. Kieran973

Kieran973 New Member

Hi Strahd,