Mode Shmode

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Gearhead, Feb 9, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Gearhead

Gearhead Member

I've experimented with 'just driving' my Clarity the past 3 weeks and I like it. I had been actively managing my battery, taking advantage of the ability to select my mode. I found myself carefully planning drives and constantly reverse engineering the car's engine control software. I love this car but the effort to optimize was beginning to bug me. So far just getting in and driving is a pleasure. The Clarity is a very decent hybrid and I've stopped trying to avoid hybrid mode and instead have adjusted to the point where I notice I'm in hybrid mode and carry on unperturbed. I should mention I'm a computer science professor and just loved exploring the inner workings of the power train but after a full year I've had enough of the challenge of mastering a control system which has ultimate authority to override my decisions.

Anyone tried this and what are your impressions?

JackH likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. insightman

insightman Well-Known Member Subscriber

It's really great that Honda designed the car to work for people who want to just get in and drive. We nerds are very happy Honda provided ways for human input to make a difference even if the car has the final say. It makes driving exciting without having to exceed the speed limit.

ClarityDoc and Atkinson like this.
  4. MNSteve

MNSteve Well-Known Member

I enjoy the challenge of trying to understand the internals of how the car works. My wife just wants to drive the car. We can both fully achieve our objectives with the Clarity.

I've only had the car for a few months, so I don't know if I will get tired of interacting with it over time. I don't expect to, but if I do, the car won't care.

ken wells likes this.
  5. Mark W

Mark W Active Member

CT