Jump start EV with power tool or AA batteries? Possible?

Discussion in 'General' started by Gsbrryprk8, Apr 19, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Gsbrryprk8

Gsbrryprk8 Member

Does anyone know how many amps an EV draws from its 12V battery when starting?

If I understand correctly, the car uses its 12V battery at starting just to open relays and switches for the traction battery. I don’t see why it would need 300+ Amps to do this, though I’m not an electric engineer.

I’ve seen Mehdi Sadaghdar’s video where he trickle charges his dead car battery with AAs in series. I’m wondering if, in a pinch, I could actually *start* my Kona with a 12V power tool battery or a bank of 9 1.5V AA batteries in series (13.5V)? They deliver far less current than a dedicated jump starter, but would it be enough?

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. It would probably work.
    Don't try by disconnecting the battery and putting the AAs in because the car will probably try to charge it, and that could be bad!?

4. bwilson4web

bwilson4web Well-Known Member Subscriber

More than a few Prius are running around with lawn mower batteries. Cheap yet good enough to work.

Bob Wilson

5. Gsbrryprk8

Gsbrryprk8 Member

If so, it seems like there’d be a (growing) market for a made-for-EV portable jump starter, smaller than the current crop of portable jumpers out there.

6. FloridaSun

FloridaSun Well-Known Member

interestedinEV likes this.
  7. To remove this ad click here.

8. interestedinEV

interestedinEV Well-Known Member

That SNL. If you are willing to pay for it, you can get full size drivable Bugatti with just single 80 V Battery with a 12 V car battery for steering. :D

(Spoiler alert, has a top speed of 19 miles, is made of all most completely of Lego bricks and parts, does not have an accelerator, includes 2304 Lego motors, with Lego Gears etc.) They could have packed it with AA batteries and made it work/