Regen and range driver info - Kona vs Bolt

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by Surlycat, Jul 23, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Surlycat

Surlycat Member

Just got my 2022 Kona and I’m fiddling with the driver info displays.

No maximum/minimum range indicator? Bolt has a super helpful instrument panel, that includes your range if you keep trending in a particular drive mode/style.

Wrapping my head around the “Charge/Power” dial - basically, if my needle is heavily into the charge side, I’m a regenerating queen, but if the needle is on the power side, it’s sucking down power like a hungry babe? Then, I have to use the Navigation panel to get a sense of my possible range/distance?

Gotta say, I do miss the Bolt’s display with it’s coloured green & yellow bars indicating your maximum & minimum range.

I’m new to the Kona - what am I missing? How do you all gauge your possible range against driving style etc? Is there an at a glance feature I’m missing?

Sent from my iPhone using Inside EVs

eastpole and electriceddy like this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Of course the displayed information(and default regeneration) is different on the dash depending on the drive mode selected- normal, sport, eco or eco+.
    I use the consumption info on the LCD screen. The menus can be changed from drive info (showing consumption information for the last drive -will reset after 4 hours when the car is shut off) also that same screen use the accumulated info which provides consumption info over time and can be manually reset. The units can also be changed, I tend to use kWh's/100km which is easily convertible to wh's per km. Average is around 125wh per km , lower than that is better.
    You can keep an eye out for consumption info as well on the center screen, - battery, energy info, electricity use, which will give you a readout of regeneration and drivetrain consumption, as well as climate and electronics use.
    Hope that helps.