Clarity without charging

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Siddhesh, May 20, 2018.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Siddhesh

Siddhesh New Member

Hello All,

I am pretty new to the PHEV and have been doing some research. I do have a few questions before i make a decision. Also i live in a apartment so charging my car daily is not going to be convenient, but i do have a level 2 charging at my office parking lot and i go to office around 3 time a week.

So few basic questions

1. Lets say i do not charge my car at all, will it just be more like a hybrid car and i still get around 42/43 MPG ? For a total driving range of approx 300 miles?

2. I read on Honda's website that in HV mode, i can make the car run on gas and charge the battery upto max 57%. Any idea how many miles usually it take to charge the battery from lets say 10% to 57%? Considering its pleasant outside between 65 and 75.

Appreciate any response and insight

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. KentuckyKen

KentuckyKen Well-Known Member

1. Yes, as long as you start with some charge; preferably around half.

2. You can do this but you may experience high rpm which some say sounds like angry bees and may be unpleasant at less than hwy speeds. And manual doesn’t recommend it for city driving. Don’t know how many miles this takes as it will vary with speed, conditions, driving style and parasitic loading like heat or A/C. The manual says about 1 hour at hwy speeds. Also, if your planning on doing this regularly it will have some impact on mpg/economy and engine wear but I don’t know how much. Others may.
    Off the top of my head, I would think that trying to regularly use HV Charge instead of Home charging would not be a viable option.

Here’s an excerpt from the manual:
    HV Charge