Canadian owners - outdoor overnight?

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Ohliuw, Jun 27, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Ohliuw

Ohliuw Active Member

Seeking opinion from Canadian owners - has anyone kept it outside during the cold winter nights? I live in Ottawa, so winters are cold and long... What was your experience like?

My understanding is that it comes with the battery heater, but I read somewhere that the manual states that plugging the battery won’t help if it’s down to -30?

I was trying to decide between the Clarity and the Niro EV, but the EX trim of the Niro doesn’t come with battery heater (wth were they thinking), so now I lean more towards the Clarity as I don’t have a garage.

Thanks

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. KentuckyKen

KentuckyKen Well-Known Member

Well, I’m not in Canada (or even Canadian) so I have no experience with my Clarity in temps under +15 F (-10 C).
    But I can point you to several references in the manual. Page 377 and pages 465 to 467 will address this issue.

If my take on it is correct, then you need to keep it plugged in when it’s outside and temps are going to approach -30 C or so. (And probably a good idea in less chilling weather too, although the manual doesn’t say what the cut in temp is.) The Manual does say the power system will not start if the pack is cold soaked and drops to approximately -30C. I would also think that the HV battery heater would help with battery health and longevity.
    The manual also states that when plugged in, the battery heater will maintain the battery temp for you until next driven. It’s just not clear to me if that also works if not plugged in. I’m thinking that’s such a drain that it won’t, but we need some real world data from some helpful Canadians on this to be sure.