Need help with rodent chewing charging cord

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by KentJohnson, Feb 7, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. To remove this ad click here.

2. KentuckyKen

KentuckyKen Well-Known Member

Way to think outside the box! If them critters like something hard to keep their teeth short, then give them something soft.
    It will be interesting to see what works. Maybe we should take up a collection for @KentJohnson’s science fair project. Or at least come up with some good titles for it.

MPower likes this.
  3. WantEV

WantEV Member

Start feeding a stray cat?

4. I have lots of experience in this, living next to a forest. A new vehicle I bought a few years back, a Nissan,(not a ev), I had to unload due to issues and evidence of rodent habitation. They essentially would not cover the warranty issues with evidence of that. Next a Subaru hybrid, with again rodent habitation. Now I am in a kia Niro plug in, and have bought a sonic repeller which seems to work. It discourages habitation however, not stops it entirely, nor immediately. I use it on the Subaru before I sold it about 6 months and it seems to work. They tend to not like the sound. The repeller connects to the battery, and uses a very tiny bit of electricity. My only caution is to buy a better quality one, there are bunches out there. And it takes a while till they leave. The cable is a problem but imagine they get into the car wiring, and if it is not covered in the warranty,(likely it is not) that is a way bigger problem. If they are eating the cable, they can get into the engine as well. They nest in things like airfilters and clog them up. Just for the cable I would buy the tape they sell. Honda has one, I think, others have mentioned. Till the tape comes in, if you don't mind the mess, sprinkle red chili powder, the hot kind, on the cable. They hate hot chili. Traps all that, only work for individual rodents, and they will then come back or new ones replace them caught. It reall