E Power Display

Discussion in 'Cooper SE' started by Stephen Graff, Jan 18, 2024.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Stephen Graff

Stephen Graff New Member

I'm new to mini cooper ownership, so I'm trying to get used to the car. I noticed this morning that e power display went from 100% to 70%. It then adjusted back up a little bit. Is this a normal occurrence in cold weather?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Puppethead

Puppethead Well-Known Member

Totally normal. The e-power is an indication of how cold (or hot?) the battery is. Once the battery get closer to normal operating temperatures it'll go back to 100%. I've had it as low as 30% from cold-soaking in very cold temperatures. It only affects two things: max acceleration and charging speed. Other than those the SE should drive normally. Charging/climatization are the ways to heat up the battery.

4. teslarati97

teslarati97 Well-Known Member

Setting a departure time (while plugged in to Level 2) is probably the most effective way. At 70% e-power I would not worry about it and just drive off.

This week I did a cold start for science at -40F cold soaked outdoors and it was brutal! My heart goes out for those who park outside with no home charging solution and LFP packs during a polar vortex.

5. SameGuy

SameGuy Well-Known Member Subscriber

YUL
    To be fair, this is less of a generalization than Kyle Conner's (or Eric Loveday's paraphrasing of Kyle's) "Perhaps think twice before buying an LFP-powered EV [if you live in an area that sees extreme cold]."

teslarati97 likes this.
  6. teslarati97

I believe Kyle's original discussion (around 25:30) was in the video was: