Best (reasonable) highway speed for fuel economy.

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Timothy, May 13, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. neal adkins

neal adkins Active Member

With your obvios technical skills it was a little misdirected pun. I think its smarter to use a least half of your battery before approaching a long upgrade, then use hv charge during the climb. I have been doing this for about 2 years now and have little to no battery degradation. But my comment is also an inside joke on how my clarity protects itself from me. Like how it will apply the brake if i approach another car too fast, and warn me if im going off the road and such. The car thinks it's pretty smart. My sense of humor is a little warped. On a more serious note, im very happy with my mid 70's mpg considering about 60 percent highway miles.

Last edited: May 16, 2021
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. leop

leop Active Member

This is just an interesting tangential comment. In Europe there is a mine on the top of a mountain. The empty electric dump trucks can climb the mountain using only the energy stored in the batteries as the loaded dump trucks descend from the mountain top mine. The battery regen also nearly eliminates all brake wear. This looks like perpetual motion (but is not as the gravitational potential energy of the mined material is used) and is very clever on the part of the engineers and bean counters.

LeoP

neal adkins likes this.
  4. You’ll have to explain to me how such a practice could reduce battery degradation.

Those sensors can’t differentiate an oncoming car on a curve from a vehicle traveling in the same direction that I may be approaching at a rapid pace. They also can’t tell when I am intentionally positioning the car to favor one side of the lane or the other. I operate the vehicle with those features disabled.

5. neal adkins