Hydrogen Fuel Cells - Not the future

Discussion in 'Hydrogen fuel cell vehicles' started by Leomon, Jan 18, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Leomon

Leomon New Member

Hey guys

Saw some posts here and couldnt help myself but to comment.
    I am an electrical engineer and have done desktop studies on the efficiency of swamping existing diesel mine vehicles to equivalent electrical or Hydrogen Fuel cell operated vehicles.

I have not studied hydrogen fuel cells directly, but understand the process enough that I think I can make some educated conclusions.

Hydrogen is not the solution.

Lets gets some misconception/misinformation corrected right away.

1.Hydrogen is not a fuel, it is a storage medium.
    (hydrogen is not being burned as fuel, like petrol. It is being used to store energy.)
    2.Hydrogen Fuel Cell vehicles ARE electric vehicles.
    (Fuel cell vehicles use electricity as the "fuel" i.e. electric motors)

Because Hydrogen fuel cells are also EVs, it is very easy to compare the efficiency vs traditional BEVs (battery electric vehicles)

Lets compare the two technologies when they are supplies by the same source.

hypoint.jpg

The issue with hydrogen is the generation, compression, transportation and delivery.

As you can see, it is NOT the solution for a green economy. Its marginally better than traditional ICE cars, but no where near battery electric vehicles because of the losses it occurs to reach the "pump"

If our entire transportation system was switched to Hydrogen distirbution, it will still be horribly inefficient and waste alot of energy.

Sure you dont get the re-fueling time but i think its a good tradeoff to all the negatives of re-fueling and transporting pure hydrogen.

Plus with 600km range, that is all but sufficient for 90% of the commuters.
    The remaining 10% can still use gasoline or hydrids.