What do users consider the most efficient EV, factoring in affordable price?

Discussion in 'General' started by ralphie_boy, Dec 24, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

Tags:
  1. ralphie_boy

ralphie_boy New Member

Newbie here. Would like a Tesla, but I can get a huge rebate on Chevy Bolt. So far those are the only two EV's I've considered. Anybody have any sleeper picks for a very efficient EV, factoring in affordability?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. davidtm

davidtm Active Member

The Koreans (Kia Niro EV, Hyundai Kona EV) are efficient and cost competitive, especially since they're still eligible for Federal tax credit.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

John321 and bwilson4web like this.
  4. If you want an relatively inexpensive and efficient EV, look at the Kia Niro, or Hyundai Kona. I think the Teslas are the most efficient, but they're quite a bit pricier.

5. bwilson4web

bwilson4web Well-Known Member Subscriber

I would add the Hyundai Ioniq, an efficient EV. If you live in an area rich with CCS-1, fast DC chargers, it could be very affordable. Use Plugshare but limit it to 120 kW stations to see what works.

Bob Wilson

Clamps likes this.
  6. To remove this ad click here.

7. marshall

marshall Well-Known Member

8. That's a real concern for me, living in Toronto, Canada, while shopping for a new 2021 EV with better range than my 2019 Nissan Leaf. I love what I've seen of the Mustang Mach-e, but it doesn't have a heat pump (whereas the e-tron, ID.4, and Tesla Y all do -- that's the only Tesla model with a heat pump).

9. marshall

The new model 3 now comes with a heat pump. Like so many things with Tesla, the information that's just a few months old is now out-of-date.

bwilson4web and Clamps like this.
  10. I think if you want absolute value for range the Chevy Bolt is your best choice. While MSRP is close or the same as the Kona, GM seems to be offering huge deals on them. I’ve read new models being sold well under $30k.