Newbie here, wife getting her 2021 Kona (preferred) six months earlier than expected.

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by navguy12, Aug 13, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. navguy12

navguy12 Well-Known Member

The background: my wife hates my TM3 but loves the EV lifestyle (sorry, I hate that term but I can't think of a better word right now).

A year ago she decided that the only EV she wanted was the Kona EV (same car I would get if the Tesla didn’t exist).

After suitable humming and hawing, she commited to wanting a blue (with white roof) Kona EV Preferred package and put down $1,000 to have the local dealership order one.

At that time, the dealership said the wait would be until some time in early 2021, but a 2021 white (with black roof) Kona EV Preferred package was arriving in four to six weeks.

The people who originally ordered that car cancelled their order and would my wife be interested in it.

She wanted the blue, so she said no to the offer of first refusal on the in comming white.

Fast forward to four days ago.

The dealership left a message saying the car would be a 2021 model and cost $100 more.

Yesterday morning, via this forum, I found out that the blue color was not available on the 2021 Preferred so off we went to see the dealership.

If my wife wanted the blue, she would only get it by paying the up charge ($6,700 plus HST I think) for the top line trim package.

So yesterday, while we were enroute for a two day trip to the inlaws, she committed to buying the white model that is in stock!

Her current car (2012 Yaris hatchback) was privately sold yesterday evening and she is picking up her new Kona EV sometime within the next five business days (we gotta get back home...).

So I've already bought her an EVSE unit and will be running the circuit in the garage tomorrow evening.

My ceramic guy (Opti-Coat Pro Plus) is booked to come over on the Tuesday following Labour Day.