ICEd charging spots

Discussion in 'General' started by TRSmith, Aug 18, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. TRSmith

TRSmith Member

I haven't seen a thread on ICEd charging spots lately, so please forgive me if I'm wrong.

I'm new to EVs, having bought my first last month. I see non-charging vehicles in EV charging spots all the time, although luckily it's never prevented me from charging.

What are people's thoughts on this? Just a few things I'm thinking about:

- If you can still charge, should you do something about the occupied spots?
    - If you should do something, do you just try to find the driver of the car? Or do you immediately call someone to have it towed?
    - What if it's preventing you from charging?

Separately, the signage situation is a mess. Signs should make clear that the spots are for EV charging only and the consequence of breaking that rule.

Also: Signs should say what EV drivers should do if the spots are blocked. I've never seen a sign clearly state who should be called -- e.g., the property owner or the company that operates the equipment. I also can't find any information about this in the apps or websites of any of the big charging companies.

electriceddy likes this.
  2. To remove this ad click here.

3. cmwade77

cmwade77 Active Member

So, here is what I tend to do:
    • If it is not preventing me from charging, as there is another legal space available that the cable will reach
      • I will leave a polite note on the windshield that lets them know that they were possibly preventing someone from getting home to their family because they were blocking what is essentially a gas pump for electric vehicles.
      • I will also report it to security (if there is any)
      • If I see them returning to their vehicle, I will also politely let them know.