Best EV for pizza delivery?

Discussion in 'General' started by Gravygrabber, Jan 21, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Gravygrabber

Gravygrabber New Member

I want to buy an EV and use it to deliver pizzas. I used to use a 99 Legacy which did pretty good considering. I'm currently looking at used first generation Nissan Leaf's. I found a couple for $4-6K which is a great price just worried about the battery life and I live in a cold climate zone (Montana). I do have access to a free charging station a block from my regular job that has two Tesla and a J whatever charger. I'm thinking I could also just plug in the 110V charger at home and work to keep it charged.
    I was also looking at Hybrid's like the Honda Insight 1st gen. and maybe Prius Prime. I'm a full time mechanic so I'd like to modify it and get as much out of whatever I get as I can. I have a full shop as my regular job. I was hoping to get a solar panel mounted on the roof to help recharge the batteries.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. How many miles do you usually travel in a day? The Nissan LEAF is probably the least expensive used EV you can buy, but it may not have the range you need. I'm also in the same boat regarding worrying about the battery in an older one. I can't spend a bunch of money on a car that may need the battery replaced soon.
    A used Chevy Volt would also be a top option. You may not be able to get through a whole shift without burning gas, but it would definitely keep the gas-burning to a minimum.

4. Gravygrabber

Gravygrabber New Member