Cheap-rate charging

Discussion in 'Hyundai Kona Electric' started by neil arundel, May 16, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. neil arundel

neil arundel New Member

Most threads I have read seem to be USA. I am in Ireland and have had a pretty constant problem with getting my Kona to charge overnight to avail of cheap-rate electricity. I set it up properly (sorry, I'm not very technical) and the display tells me "Waiting to charge at scheduled time" but charge, it does not. It does if I go sit in the car after the set time and turn on the power. It then starts charging!!! Defeats the object of setting a time, and very annoying. Is there something wrong with the electronics in the car or with the home charging unit? Strangely enough if I start it charging shortly enough before the time it's set to stop then it does stop correctly. The dealer says there's nothing wrong with the car's electronics and the charging unit supplier has not been able to get to check the installation because of Lock-down! Well at least I'm not going anywhere!! Anyone else with the same problem?

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. eastpole

eastpole Active Member

Hi Neil Arundel!
    Note to people without this modern convenience: Some jurisdictions have a concept called "Time of Use" billing and it means that, when demand has dropped overnight, for instance, very cheap electricity can be made available to residential users. This is especially true where some large generators cannot conveniently be throttled or shut down, as is the case with Ontario's nuclear power plants. So it's better for everyone if we can charge from 2am to 6am, for instance.

Neil, what exact car charging system do you have? Does it work well outside of scheduled charging?

The power to what, exactly? The charger should be powered always, unless I misunderstand.

How is the time on the charging unit set? Does it have an internet connection of some sort? Is the time in the car set fairly close to correctly?