Strange Front Brakes

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by David Towle, Mar 14, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. David Towle

David Towle Well-Known Member

I have meant to post this since I first put on snow tires but kept forgetting, although maybe its been mentioned in a thread I missed. Took the snows off today, and was re-reminded of the very strange front brake design.

The pads do not contact the outer 1" diameter of the front ventilated rotors! I have been doing brake jobs and changing snow tires for about 35 years and I have never seen this on any car. There is a half inch wide strip of rust around the OD of the rotors. Do others have this?

It looks like the pads extend out to the full diameter of the rotors but they don't make contact. Do they put a bevel or cutout on the pads for some reason? (Stabilizing the pad material when its still very thick?) Is this something done on other cars that disappears as the pad wears in a few thousand miles, but because I use the brakes so little on this car its lasting years? (I have over 30,000 miles on the car) This design of course makes the brakes less powerful and fade resistant than they could be since the full area is not being utilized.

The rear brakes are smaller non ventilated, and the pads contact within a few millimeters of the rotor OD as is normal.

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Atkinson

Atkinson Active Member

You may find that rust has worn the pads near where they used to touch the outer edge of the rotors so that there is insufficient contact to clean the rust.
    Beveled pads would wear flat over time.
    My pads are contacting (and cleaning) the full rotor diameter.
    The combination of regen and light friction braking (and salt, if that applies) can allow the rotors to get a little rusty longer and more often compared to cars that are driven hard.
    If hard braking doesn't help, try multiple emergency stops from highway speed in neutral.
    The brakes will get hot.