All Electric Range?

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Ran, Feb 2, 2020.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Dan Albrich

Dan Albrich Well-Known Member

YATASUWATER-- Yes. It happens a bunch, doesn't it? How many times have we had *this* conversation in the forums?

I used to be a PC helpdesk manager. You learn a lot about human nature doing more than 30 years of customer service, especially if you endeavor to do it well. If you are running a business, and basically everyone who comes in the door has the same misunderstanding, you know what?, maybe your business needs to address that issue. You need to do the things that enable folks to be your customer, and for them to feel good about it.

For me personally (and I know many will disagree, and I don't care): It's irresponsible to say Clarity has 47 miles of EV range. I totally call BS on this! What a crock! If you're serious about being real with people, the EV range one receives varies greatly seasonally and most importantly by location. Yep, those folks in Florida may really see 70 EV miles. God love them. Guess what, not even one person in Oregon ever see's that. Insert places like Montana, the Dakotas, Minnesota, so on and so forth. Guess what? A huge percentage of the USA is between the 45-49th parallel and yep, vast numbers of us deal with harsh winters. The EV numbers I get are vastly different than those in the southern half of the USA.

So maybe we need a better way to indicate EV range? For example, with a gas car, one typically sees MPG highway vs. MPG city. I think the EV metric should be average EV range winter, and average EV range summer. I tell my friends and I mean it to my soul, the Clarity is a *30* mile EV car, because that's my reality-- and good on those of you who see better, but myself and my co-worker who also has a Clarity don't see the number Honda advertises as average. It's the number we see rarely under ideal conditions.

-Dan