Main issues of EVs?

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Nepotu, Mar 26, 2019.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Nepotu

Nepotu New Member

Hi all,
    I am new in EV world and I just found this nice forum. I would like to know more about it and buy an electric car in the future short time period. So I decided to write this post and ask to you, users of EVs or technicians, what are the daily issues of an EV owner. How does life change? How do you face with charging you battery? And all about what concerns with a lifestyle point of view main issues and critical situations. I want to be prepared to everything. Thank you in advance if you would be so kind to share with me your experiences and opinions.

PS sorry for my english

2. To remove this ad click here.

3. Sans Ice

Sans Ice New Member

Life change - never going to a gas station again. Charging - overnight in your garage - I own 2 and have absolutely no regrets.

Sibilance likes this.
  4. Nepotu

Nepotu New Member

Hi Sans Ice and thanks for your reply. Do you have also some advises about dealing with long trips?

5. Thevenin

Thevenin Member

I own a Honda Clarity, which is only half electric, but I still get most of the EV experience. I don't know how much you already know, so I'll start at the beginning.

Electric vehicles have gotten good in the last few years. Even the cheap ones are fast, quiet, and powerful.

Plugging in at home is much cheaper and more convenient than going to a gas station. I never realized how much of a chore it was to stop at a gas station until I didn't have to anymore.

There are four speeds ("levels") of charging, and each has its strengths.
    • Level 1 charging: Level 1 charging provides 3-4 miles for each hour you plug in. This uses a normal 120V outlet. Level 1 charging is best for charging overnight.