Does anyone here have very high mileage on their Clarity yet? 100k+? Long post...

Discussion in 'Clarity' started by Casey Martin, Feb 5, 2021.

To remove this ad click here.

1. Casey Martin

Casey Martin Active Member

I am currently leasing my Clarity plug in. My intention from the beginning was to purchase it at the end of the lease. I did a 30 month lease at 20k miles per year. For full disclosure I am a sales manager at a Honda dealer and have been for over 20 years. The lease deal was so good back in 2018 it was too hard to pass up. Since it was a leased vehicle the then available $7,500 tax credit would immediately come off of the selling price when leased since Honda would get that money later. They just passed it on immediately if it was leased. Which with the cashback and discount that was available then I was basically able to lease it for ~$13k below the MSRP. Since the money factor/interest rate was almost zero as well the deal was just too good to pass up.

Anyways, I drive about 25k miles per year. I currently have just over 51k on my Clarity now. Besides normal oil changes and tires I haven't had many issues besides an odd Sirius XM issue that was eventually corrected. I also had/have an odd brake warning light issue which triggers other issues if I don't come to a complete stop when backing out of my long driveway before hitting drive. As long as I come to complete stop before hitting drive the issue doesn't happen. If I happen to be in a rush and hit drive before I am completely stopped it will trigger a brake warning that doesn't allow me to switch driving modes until the vehicle has been reset. That basically takes it sitting overnight.

Besides those issues it has been extremely reliable. When I leased it I bought the Honda care warranty that is good for 120,000 miles. So I am covered for at least another 3 to 4 years or so in terms of major warranty concerns.